Weather Forecast


Tuesday's sports briefs: 11/19/13

Waddell places in top 30 in 3 events at national meet

By The Daily Republic

MINNEAPOLIS — Mitchell Aquatic Club swimmer Tevyn Waddell finished in the top 30 in three events at the Arena Grand Prix Meet over the weekend in Minneapolis.

The meet featured multiple Olympians, USA national team members and collegiate swimmers.

Waddell swam in seven events, but earned her best finish in the 100-meter backstroke. She was 19th with a time of 56.62 seconds, which puts her seventh in the nation for 15-year-old girls. She was 24th in the 200-meter backstroke and 1,650-meter freestyle. In the 1,650 free, she is 15th in the nation with a time of 17 minutes, 30.92 seconds.

5 DWU players earn all-GPAC soccer honors

By The Daily Republic

Five members of the Dakota Wesleyan University men’s soccer team earned all-Great Plains Athletic Conference honorable mention accolades, it was announced Monday.

Ryan West, Trent Robbins, Zach Schneider, Mike Haight and Alex Nelson were all honored by the conference following the season. This is the first all-conference honor for all five athletes.

This is the third time in DWU men’s soccer history that more than three athletes from the program have earned accolades in the same season.

Selland signs with Augustana College

By The Daily Republic

Sanborn Central/ Woonsocket girls’ basketball player Shelby Selland signed a national letter of intent Sunday to play basketball at Augustana College.

Selland helped her team to a fourth-place finish in 2012 and a fifth-place finish last year at the Class B girls’ basketball tournament.

She has scored 1,120 points and brought down 614 rebounds in her career.

Johnson named MVP for MHS football program

By The Daily Republic

The Mitchell Kernel football team presented its postseason awards last week and junior Mitch Johnson was named the Most Valuable Player of the team.

Sophomore Kanin Nelson is the offensive MVP and the defensive MVP is junior Matt Larson. The scout team player of the year is sophomore Austin Getty, while the special teams player of the year is senior Hakon Gustafson Giaever.

Defensive and offensive linemen of the year are junior Riley Heck and senior Andrew Getty, who is also the South Dakota National Guard Warrior.

Senior Micah Hettinger earned the Dan Ammon Memorial Award.