Weather Forecast


Young, Miller, Sabers make all-ESD first team

Three members of the Mitchell High School girls' basketball team were named to the all-Eastern South Dakota Conference girls' basketball first team.

It was announced Monday that seniors Kristin Sabers and Kerri Young and junior Macy Miller were the Kernels' representatives on the list.

For Sabers, it is the first time she has been named to the first-team. She was listed as an honorable mention player for the three prior years.

Miller makes her third appearance on the first-team list after leading the Kernels in scoring and breaking the school's single season scoring record for girls' basketball this season. She set the record at 493.

Young, who became Mitchell's all-time leading scorer this season, makes the first-team list for the fourth straight year. During Young's time with the Kernels, she scored 1,760 points.

"Kerri, Macy and Kristin are very athletic basketball players and they do a very good job of playing the basketball game," Mitchell coach Wes Morgan said. "I couldn't be more proud of this group. ... It wasn't hard to get them in the gym and they were great role models for the younger kids."

Joining the Mitchell trio on the all-ESD first team is Aberdeen Central's Sami Knecht, Brynn Flakus and Sara Niederbaumer; Pierre's Sydney Palmer and Kaitlyn Severyn; Yankton's Kelsey Fitzgerald and Brandon Valley's Alison Koehn.

Megan Farnham was Mitchell's lone representative on the all-conference honorable mention list. This is the first time the senior was given the conference honors.

Others players selected as honorable mentions were Brookings's Emily Johnson and Amelia Miller; Huron's Katelyn Allerdings; Pierre's Taylor Hyde and Yankton's Morgan Tessier.