Weather Forecast


Young named first team all-ESD

Mitchell freshman Kerri Young was named to the first team all-Eastern South Dakota conference list, it was announced today.

Young was the only freshman on the 10-player team. Young's teammate Kristin Sabers, also a freshman, was honorable mention.

"They both deserve it; both put a lot of time it," Kernels' coach Wes Morgan said. "They carried us this year. They were leaders on the floor on the offensive end and they learned a lot defensively.

"It's a nice honor for both of those kids."

Young led the Kernels with 16.2 points and 7.9 rebounds per game.

"She's going to be a special talent," Morgan said. "She's very unselfish and going to make the kids around her better. With a player like that, we're going to grow to be a good team."

Sabers was second in both categories, averaging 12 points and 6.7 rebounds per game.

The two also averaged the most time on the floor for Mitchell this season.

The two freshmen were key contributors to Mitchell's most successful season since 2004. Mitchell won nine games and was one win away from making the state tournament.

ESD all-conference girls' basketball team

First team:

Alison Kusler, Aberdeen Central; Ashley Lafave, Aberdeen Central; Heidi Hoff, Brandon Valley; Cassidy Kotelman, Brookings; Mandi Robish, Huron; Lavin Stahl, Huron; Kerri Young, Mitchell; Paige Burkett, Pierre; Brittany Lehner, Watertown; Laura Ekeren, Yankton.

Honorable mention:

Hilary Peterson, Aberdeen Central; Laura Hieb, Brandon Valley; Kate Swenson, Brandon Valley; Ashley Odegaard, Brookings; Taylor Carlson, Huron; Kristin Sabers, Mitchell; Amber Olson, Pierre; Tia Hemiller, Watertown; Chloe Cornemann, Yankton.