Weather Forecast


Local team players headline SDABA tourney team

Three Alexandria Angels and three Parkston Mudcat baseball players led the 2014 South Dakota Amateur Baseball Association Class B state tournament team announced Wednesday by SDABA president Dale Weber.

Alexandria's Peyton Smith, Cory Marek and Cole Wenande were all announced as making the team. Wenande was named the Batting Champ of the 2014 tournament.

Parkston's Jeff Fish, Trevor Freudenthal and Brady Nolz represent the three Mudcats named on the tournament team.

The 2014 Class B state amateur baseball champions Wynot, (Neb.) had three players named as well. Wynot's Brett Scherschligt won the Class B tournament's Most Valuable Player.

The full list of the Class B and Class A tournament teams are listed below:

B All Tourney

Billy Hamilton, Plankinton

Bryce DesLauriers, Clark

Noah Bohlman, Akron

Simon Healy, Irene

Travis Feekes, Larchwood

Brian Stoebner, Harrisburg

Jeff Fish, Parkston

Trevor Freudenthal, Parkston

Brady Nolz, Parkston

Rand Thygeson, Crofton

Tyler Zimmerman, Crofton

Rich Sternberg, Platte

Brett Severtson, Flandreau

Mitch Foster, Flandreau

Cole Wenande, Alexandria Batting Champ

Peyton Smith, Alexandria

Cory Marek, Alexandria

Kyle Wiepen, Wynot

Lee Heimes, Wynot

Brett Scherschligt, Wynot, MVP

A All Tourney

Derrik Nelson, Yankton

Eric Danforth, Castlewood

Ryan Ellingson, Castlewood

Bryce Ahrendt, SF Brewers

James Borges, SF Brewers

Kendall Hazel, Vermillion

A J Staiert, Vermillion

Robin Chute, Vermillion

Tim Huber, Renner , MVP

Michael Clapp, Renner, Batting Champ

Eric De Jong, Renner

Dallas Schneiderman, Renner

Juan Thomas, Renner