Weather Forecast


Area coach, official earn SDHSCA awards

CHAMBERLAIN -- One area coach and one area official earned awards from the South Dakota High School Coaches' Association, which were released Friday.

Chamberlain's Sherri Knippling received the 2014 SDHSCA Coach of the Year award for gymnastics, while Donnie Kayser, of Alexandria, was selected as the Official of the Year by the association.

Award winners will be recognized at the annual awards banquet July 16 in Aberdeen in conjunction with the summer coaches' clinic.

Knippling has been coaching the Cubs for 21 years, with the team finishing in third at this year's Class A state competition.

"She's the heart and soul for the program," Chamberlain Athletic Director Rick Hargens said. "She is 100 percent committed to the program and is always there for the kids. She is very knowledgeable and has a passion for the sport."

Kayser has been officiating since 1992, including boys and girls basketball games and collegiate contests. He has officiated several district and region games, along with eight Class B girls state tournaments, including two championship games in 2007 and 2011.

Kayser is also the 2014 South Dakota Girls Basketball National Federation Officials Association Award recipient.

Other area coaches who were nominated for the SDHSCA awards were: Audra Rew (Mitchell gymnastics), Mark Stoebner (Bon Homme/Scotland wrestling), Larry Aaker (Winner girls basketball), Wes Morgan (Mitchell girls basketball), Frank Cutler (Platte-Geddes boys basketball) and Don McLean (official from Mitchell).

SDHSCA Coaches of the Year awards

Gymnastics: Sherri Knippling, Chamberlain; Wrestling: Rockery Burkett, Aberdeen Central; Girls basketball: Nate Malchow, Sioux Falls Washington; Boys basketball: Michael Ricke, Madison; Spirit: Sheri Keck, Rapid City Stevens; Athletic Director: Mark Meile, Sioux Falls Public Schools; Official: Donnie Kayser, Alexandria.

Brooke Cersosimo
Brooke Cersosimo is The Daily Republic's sports editor.