Weather Forecast


Mastel, Farnham among top award winners at MHS banquet

Brooke Cersosimo/Republic MHS Activities Director Geoff Gross, left, awards Ron Parks, right, a plaque for Mitchell Assistant Coach of the Year Wednesday at the Corn Palace in Mitchell. Parks is an assistant for the football and track and field teams.

The Daily Republic announced Megan Farnham and Evan Mastel as its most valuable athletes at the Mitchell High School athletic awards banquet Wednesday night at the Corn Palace.

Both seniors, Mastel and Farnham are multisport athletes who have excelled on the playing field throughout the year. Mastel played football, basketball and baseball, while Farnham played volleyball, basketball and track and field.

The awards were two of several honors handed out at the banquet.

"Throughout the year, we have had athletic victories and athletic defeats, but (Wednesday) we get to celebrate the true spirit of high school athletics and that is the true pursuit of academic excellence enhanced through the vehicle of athletics," Mitchell High School Activities Director Geoff Gross said.

There were 11 featured awards that concluded the banquet. They were:

Bill Timmins Fan of the Year: Mike Tobin

Business of the Year: Iverson Chrysler

Mike Miller Scholarship Award, worth $1,000: Michael Sadler and Courtney Moore

Jill McCormick Scholarship Award, worth $500: Courtney Moore

Adam Aslesen Memorial Leadership Award/Scholarship: Kerri Young

CorTrust/MHS Athletic Booster Club Scholarships, worth $814 each: Jordan Barnhart; Megan Farnham; Evan Mastel; Zach Moen; Courtney Moore; Kendra Morgan; Berkley Rietveld; Megan Roth; Jared Schmidt; and Josh Schmidt.

Golden "M" Awards for athletes who compete in three school-sponsored sports: Beau Brown; Zach Moen; Jon Jamison; Taylor Volesky; Emma Schmidt; Berkley Rietveld; Jesse Volek; Ellie Rew; Shelly Iburg; Megan Farnham.

Mitchell Assistant Coach of the Year: Ron Parks

The Daily Republic MVPs, one male and one female: Evan Mastel and Megan Farnham

Tom Maxwell Coach of the Year Award: Deb Thill

KMIT Radio Student-Athlete Award: Megan Farnham

Each team also had a Hustler Award winner, which was voted on by the athletes of each team and handed out by the head coach.

They were: boys' golf: Jaron Weich; girls' tennis: Grace Grabenstein; boys' soccer: Seth VandenHoek; girls' soccer: Bailey Hohn; softball: Jenna Skinner; girls' cross country: Berkley Rietveld; boys' cross country: Christian Fossum; competitive cheer: Jesse Volek; competitive dance: Paige Grace; football: Andrew Getty; football cheerleading: RyLee Sanders; volleyball: Megan Farnham; gymnastics: Quinci Herll; wrestling: Ethan Parr; girls' basketball: Berkley Rietveld; girls' basketball cheerleading: Taylor Carpentier; boys' basketball: Cole Morgan; boys' basketball cheerleading: RyLee Sanders; boys' tennis: Brenden Lehr; girls' track and field: Emma Schmidt; boys' track and field: Ben Prill; baseball: Michael Sadler.