Weather Forecast


Parkston's Digmann named SD wrestling coach of the year

PARKSTON -- Surprised was how Parkston head coach Jared Digmann described the feeling he got after being told he was voted the 2013 wrestling coach of the year by the South Dakota High School Coaches' Association. The award was announced Sunday.

"I have been coaching at Parkston for four years now," Digmann said. "I haven't been coaching high school for a long time, so it was a bit surprising to me to get that call. I was definitely happy to hear that and it was a big honor."

Digmann receives the award after his Parkston Trojans claimed the Class B wrestling title in emphatic fashion this season. The Trojans set an all-time points record (164), besting the previous mark set by Redfield in 1981 by 7 points.

By tournament's end, Parkston not only claimed a team title but had two wrestlers take home individual state championships and seven others place in the top eight at the Class B meet.

The Trojans breezed through their regular season as well. They won every dual and all but one tournament they participated in as a team. The lone tournament Parkston did not win was the Jerry Opbroek tournament in Mitchell. The Trojans scored 165 team points and were edged out by Class AA state champion Pierre, which won the event with a score of 175.

"The big thing that made the year really good for us was the kids," Digmann said. "They were always willing to work hard and improve. In every tournament if someone fell off a little bit there was someone else who picked up where they left off. They fed off of each other and they were team. Once one guy would get going, they all would get going."

Digmann added that this was the most dominant team he had ever coached.

After completing his wrestling career at Dakota Wesleyan University where he was NAIA All-American, Digmann became the head wrestling coach at Lead-Deadwood in 2005. He also spent time as an assistant coach in Barrow, Alaska, and Northern State as a graduate assistant before coming to Parkston.

Along with Digmann, other finalist for the award were Matt Donnelly, of Phillip; Ryan Noyes, of Pierre; Lance Pearson, of Rapid City Central; and Mark Stoebner of Bon Homme.

"There are definitely some good coaches in the state. I mean you have Noyes at Pierre who has one two states in a row and Stoebner had three guys in the finals," Digmann said. Those are some really good coaches who may have been just as deserving to get it as I was, but I am definitely excited to be awarded."

Winners in other sports were as followed, gymnastics, Mark Upward, of Vermillion; girls' basketball, Stewart Bohle, of Warner; boys' basketball, Terry Becker, Pierre; spirit, Cami Bacon, of Dell Rapids St. Mary's; athletic director, Tom Murphy of Aberdeen Roncalli; and official Jerry Beers, of Brookings.

Digmann and the other honorees will be recognized at the annual awards banquet in July 17 in Aberdeen.