Weather Forecast


Mitchell man charged with wife’s suffocation death

Area volleyball players named to all-LMVC team

LAKE ANDES -- The Andes Central volleyball team was atop the Little Missouri Valley Conference, going 6-0 this season, and had four players named to the all-conference team.

Hayli Gray, Sierra Svatos, Kellie Winckler and Krista Winckler were given honors, while Dennisha Johanneson and Payton Johanneson were named to the honorable mention list.

Svatos led the Eagles with 698 set assists, Kellie Winckler had 305 kills and 350 digs and Krista Winckler led the team in blocks with 99. Gray had 125 kills this season.

Wagner's Sydney Breen, Jessa Doom and Nicole Weber were named to the all-conference team. Breen had 484 digs, Doom recorded 906 set assists and Weber tallied 344 kills for the Red Raiders, who were 5-1 in conference play.

Kim Koupal and Alex Dvorak were honorable mention.

Parkston (4-2 LMVC) had two players named to the team in Whitney Weber and Laura Weiss. McKenzie Lee was honorable mention.

Kennidy Asche and Carley Skorepa made the team for Scotland, which was 3-3 in the conference. Christy Mogck was honorable mention.

Bon Homme's (2-4 LMVC) Jody Kriz, who had 446 digs this season, was given all-conference honors and Caitlin McLouth made the honorable mention list.

Alyson Roth made the all-conference team for Avon (1-5 LMVC). Chesney Nagel was honorable mention.

Tripp-Delmont/Armour was 0-6 in the conference, and Kelli Batterman made the all-LMVC team. LaNae Fuerst was honorable mention.

All-281 Conference team

WOONSOCKET -- The Sanborn Central/Woonsocket and Wessington Springs volleyball teams each had players named to the all-281 Conference team for their efforts this season.

Within the conference, players can make the first team, second team, third team or honorable mention.

Marissa Weber was the only Rebel to make the first team, which was made up of six players.

Candace Page-Marten and Wessington Springs' Shyanne Kopfmann were named to the second team.

Sanborn Central/Woonsocket's Rachelle Moore and Wessington Springs' Traci Orth claimed third team honors.

Rebel Shelby Selland and Spartan Sheyanne Brodkorb were honorable mention in the conference.

All-Big Dakota Conference team

CHAMBERLAIN -- The Chamberlain and Winner volleyball teams each had three players named to the Big Dakota all-Conference team.

Chamberlain seniors Laura Pazour and Jaymee Knippling and junior Kennedy Wagner were named to the team, which is made up of 13 players.

Winner juniors Cassidy Hanson, Sara Husher and Emily Richey also were given all-conference honors.

Hanson led the Warriors in kills with 370 this season, and Husher had 387 set assists.

Brooke Cersosimo
Brooke Cersosimo is The Daily Republic's sports editor.