Weather Forecast


NAIA picks Sioux Falls to host national men’s basketball tournament

Endres, Little earn first-team all-GPAC honors as seniors

Dakota Wesleyan University offensive lineman Nathan Little and running back Josh Endres received first-team all-Great Plains Athletic Conference honors, it was announced by the league Tuesday.

Both seniors, Endres and Little were two of 13 players from DWU's roster that earned all-conference honors.

"They're two pretty high-profile guys and they've been mainstays in the offense for multiple seasons," DWU coach Ross Cimpl said. "The things they were able to do for our offense played a big role for us this season. "We're going to need to find someone or multiple people to pick up the sack now that they're gone."

Little, of Aberdeen, helped the Tigers' offense accumulate 1,251 rushing yards and 2,397 passing yards. DWU finished fourth in the league in pass offense and fifth in total offense at 364.8 yards per game.

"He's a guy who really led by example and he took a greater leadership role this season," Cimpl said. "He was the only senior offensive lineman we had."

This is the third conference honor for Endres, who averaged 130 yards per game in his senior season. He was fifth in the NAIA with 1,302 rushing yards this season. He was sixth in the national in all-purpose yards per game (159.7) and set the school's single-season and career rushing records.

"Josh deserves a boatload of credit for what he's done," Cimpl said. "Having just about every rushing record doesn't happen overnight. He was a guy that everyone in the conference schemed against."

The Ethan native also caught 25 passes for 295 yards and totaled 10 touchdowns.

On the defensive side, defensive lineman Craig Henglefelt and safety Dustin Bergmeier were second-team selections. Punter Derek Carlson was a second-team pick on special teams.

Quarterback Jon Bane, wide receivers Michael Brown and Arthur Brown, offensive lineman Kyle Hencke and linebackers Mike Barnaud, Brady Bonte, Anthony Cervantes and Jeff Maassen were honorable mention for the Tigers, who finished the season 6-4 overall and 5-4 in the conference.