Weather Forecast


Wessington Srings Pheasants Forever awarded chapter of year

Wessington Springs Pheasants Forever members are, from left, South Dakota Regional Representative Mike Stephenson, Chapter President Dan Kruse, Chapter Vice President Darwin Weeldreyer and chapter member and Jerauld County Farm Bill Biologist Scott Groepper. (Submitted photo)

OACOMA — Wessington Springs Pheasants Forever 835 was recently awarded chapter of the year at the Pheasants Forever state meeting held at Cedar Shores in Oacoma.

Wessington Springs is one of 30 chapters throughout South Dakota.

Vice President Darwin Weeldreyer said the award was an honor for the group. “Our chapter is made up of a great group of individuals who all share the same passion for pheasant hunting and the outdoors in general,” he said. “This award represents that passion. The community is fortunate to have a group of volunteers who are committed to seeing that our hunting heritage is preserved and carried forward for future generations to experience and enjoy.”