Weather Forecast


Mitchell man charged with wife’s suffocation death

Boundaries narrowly stay for Tripp-Delmont

School board boundaries will stay in the Tripp-Delmont School District after another close vote on the topic.

A proposal to eliminate the five boundaries failed, 65 to 63, during Tuesday's election, according to school Business Manager Sherry Hansen. The boundaries are split up based on population, with two members coming from Tripp, one from Delmont and two members coming from the rural parts of the district. The lines are redrawn every 10 years to be in line with changes in population from the U.S. Census.

If passed, school board members could have resided anywhere in the district.

Supporters of the measure said it has become hard to find qualified candidates willing to run in the election with the boundaries. In some instances, candidates may not want to run because they would displace members that are doing a good job.

It's the second time in the last four years that the boundary question has failed. In 2010, the measure to get rid of boundaries was defeated by five votes, 225-220, and that result stood after a recount.

Hansen said it would be up to the school board to call for a recount in this instance, but said it seemed unlikely with the low voter turnout. Official voter turnout figures were not available. State election rules allow for three registered voters in the school district to call for a recount within five days of the official canvassing of the results.

Other area school board elections:

Burke: Incumbent Brandon York and Tammi Serr won in the five-way race for two seats on the school board. York had 151 votes and Serr had 146 votes to win three-year seats. Tamra Glover had 136 votes, incumbent Travis Serr had 113 votes and Jon Smikle had 33 votes in a race that drew a 33 percent turnout.

Lyman: Incumbents Ronda Schelske and Kimm Schweitzer and challenger Dennis Stanley won school board seats during Tuesday's election. Schelske led all candidates with 233 votes, followed by Schweitzer with 217 votes and Stanley with 200 votes to win three-year, at-large terms. Current board member Robert Fanning failed in his bid for re-election with 190 votes. No official voter turnout figures were available.

Wagner: Incumbent Scott Alderink retained his three-year seat on the school board, receiving 173 votes. George Langdeaux and Kelli Huapapi received 22 and 17 votes, respectively. Turnout was 9 percent.