Weather Forecast


Boys State of SD: Yankton youth elected gov over Mitchell student

ABERDEEN -- Several area youth joined the ranks of American Legion Boys State officers last week in Aberdeen.

The 72nd annual session of the American Legion Boys State of South Dakota was June 2-6 on the campus of Northern State University in Aberdeen. The 316 high school boys between their junior and senior years who were delegates held their general election for state officers on June 5. Election results were announced by Boys State Executive Officer Todd Otterberg, of Spearfish.

John Dannenbring, of Yankton, who will be a senior this year at Yankton High School, was elected as governor. Elected as lieutenant governor was Patrick Binder, a student at Yankton High School. Both candidates were members of the Federalist Party. Dannenbring and Binder defeated Nationalist Party candidates Aaron Krumholz, of Mitchell, and Brandon Vanosdel, of Mission Hill.

Ryan Waldo, of Spearfish, and James Mayclin, of Plankinton, were selected as the two delegates to represent South Dakota at The American Legion Boys Nation in Washington, D.C., in July. Jordon Smith, of Whitewood, and Aaron Krumholz, of Mitchell, were selected as alternate delegates.

Tristan Ashdown, of Highmore, was selected as the 2014 recipient of the Samsung, American Legion Scholarship of $1,000. Tristan's application has been forwarded to the National American Legion Selection Committee. The committee will award $20,000 scholarships to nine of the State Finalists.

Other election results were Taylor Dupont, of Spearfish, for attorney general; Matt Seitz, of Aberdeen, for secretary of state; Carson Hofer, of Bridgewater, as state auditor; Seth Weiland, of Beresford, as state treasurer; Byeongmin Nam, of Sioux Falls, as commissioner of school and public lands.

Elected as members of the Public Utilities Commission were Ethan Beck, of Sioux Falls; Matt Decker, of Watertown; and Isaac Novak, of Mitchell.

In non-political elections, the delegates also elected six justices to serve on the Supreme Court. Elected as Supreme Court Justices were Cole Purdy, of Sioux Falls; Dylan Wald, of Sioux Falls; Tucker Hamer, of Sioux Falls; Dan Stibral, of Tabor; Dale Butler, of Wilmot; and Ethan Weinhaimer, of Onida, who was elected the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

Berk Ehrmantraut, of Tyndall, was selected as the speaker of the House of Representatives. Gerald Fraase, of Hartford, was selected as the Nationalist Party Chairman and Joseph Davis, of Woonsocket, was the Nationalist Party keynote speaker. The Federalist Party chose Jordon Smith, of Whitewood, as its party chairman and James Mayclin, of Plankinton, as its keynote speaker.

Aaron Krumholz captured the honors of Outstanding Speaker.

Jonah Dally, of Sioux Falls, was selected as the Outstanding Boys State Citizen and also received the Spirit of Boys State Award, which recognizes the Boys State Delegate who best exemplifies the purpose of American Legion Boys State of South Dakota.

Jack Nachtigal, of Sioux Falls, was selected as the editor of the Boys State Daily Newspaper, the Sunshine Scribe.