Weather Forecast


24-hour alcohol sales for Deadwood squeak through House

PIERRE -- The state House of Representatives decided Thursday that bars in Deadwood hotels should be treated differently than all of the others in South Dakota.

0 Talk about it

House members voted 36-33 to allow Deadwood hotels to sell and serve alcohol round the clock.

That would be an exception from the standard statewide hours, which are 7 a.m. to 2 a.m.

The legislation, HB 1123, needed at least 36 yes votes to pass in the House. It now moves to the Senate for consideration.

Deadwood casinos are allowed to be open round the clock. The bill's prime sponsor, Rep. Tim Rounds, R-Pierre, said the change for the hotels would align their bar hours with the gambling hours.

Rounds said activity at Deadwood casinos slipped in the past year and there's no single reason.

"The revenue has been going down and it continues to do so," he said. "The purpose of this bill is to make it a destination."

Rep. Don Kopp, R-Rapid City, asked what's next if the longer alcohol sales don't help revive the gambling town's economy.

"Adult entertainment? Think about it, because there's no step people won't degrade to, to make money."

The Senate meanwhile was scheduled to debate a $1 increase in the hotel-room tax for Deadwood Thursday but deferred action on that measure until Monday.


Yes — Anderson, R-Hudson. Bartling, D-Gregory. Conzet, R-Rapid City. Cronin, R-Gettysburg. Dryden, R-Rapid City. Erickson, R-Sioux Falls. Feinstein, D-Sioux Falls. Gibson, D-Huron. Greenfield, R-Clark.

Hajek, R-Sioux Falls. Hawley, D-Brookings. Heinert, D-Mission. Hoffman, R-Eureka. Johns, R-Lead. Kaiser, R-Aberdeen. Kirschman, D-Sioux Falls. Lnager, R-Dell Rapids. Lust, R-Rapid City. May, R-Kyle. Mickelson, R-Sioux Falls. Nelson, R-Fulton. Novstrup, R-Aberdeen. Olson, R-Prairie City. Otten, R-Tea. Peterson, D-Revillo. Ring, D-Vermillion. Romkema, R-Spearfish. Rounds, R-Pierre. Rozum, R-Mitchell. Schoenfish, R-Scotland. Solum, R-Watertown. Stalzer, R-Sioux Falls. Stevens, R-Yankton. Tulson, R-Lake Norden. Westra, R-Sioux Falls. Wink, R-Howes.

No — Bolin, R-Canton. Cammack, R-Union Center. Campbell, R-Rapid City. Carson, R-Mitchell. Craig, R-Rapid City. Duvall, R-Pierre. Ecklund, R-Brandon. Feickert, D-Aberdeen. Gosch, R-Rapid City. D. Haggar, R-Sioux Falls. J. Haggar, R-Sioux Falls. Hawks, R-Hartford. Henemann, R-Flandreau. Hickey, R-Sioux Falls. Hunhoff, D-Yankton. Killer, D-Pine Ridge. Kopp, R-Rapid City. Latterell, R-Tea. Magstadt, R-Watertown. Parsley, D-Madison. Qualm. R-Platte. Rasmussen, R-Hurley. Russell, R-Hot Springs. Schaefer, R-Kennebec. Schrempp, D-Lantry. Sly, R-Rapid City. Soli, D-Sioux Falls. Steele, R-Sioux Falls. Tyler, D-Big Stone City. Verchio, R-Hill City. Werner, R-Huron. Wick, R-Sioux Falls. Wismer, D-Britton.