Weather Forecast


Governor awards $1.2 million grant to Mitchell School District CTE Program

PIERRE — Gov. Dennis Daugaard announced today the recipients of the Governor’s Grants for Career & Technical Education. Twelve school districts, including Mitchell School District, will receive a combined total of over $8.5 million through these grants.

Mitchell School District is receiving $1,240,228 for the renovation and expansion of the regional CTE center, also known as the Mitchell Career and Technical Education Academy building. It is the second-largest grant among the 12 that were announced Wednesday.

“CTE programs are crucial in preparing South Dakota students for all the opportunities awaiting them after graduation,” Daugaard said. “Programs are strongest when all the key players work together: secondary education, postsecondary education, and business and industry.”

The grants will assist school districts in developing CTE programs and strengthening programs that already exist. The funds will help middle schools and high schools to partner with each other, other school districts, postsecondary institutions and those in the industry.

The grants were made available through the South Dakota Future Fund, which was created by Gov. George S. Mickelson to invest in South Dakota’s workforce and build its economy. They are available on a one-time basis, so grant projects must be self-sustaining beyond this initial investment.

“We’re going to be providing some training to teachers, renovating facilities and purchasing equipment and we’re also going to be updating the technology infrastructure in that building," Mitchell Superintendent Joe Graves said of the money's use.  

The following school districts have been awarded grants:

- Aberdeen School District – $2 million for the construction of a new regional CTE facility

- Burke School District – $604,010 to go toward mobile units, in cooperation with Andes Central School District, Colome School District, and South Central School District

- Madison Central School District – $376,808 for health science, transportation and manufacturing programs to serve area schools

- Meade School District – $89,967 to go toward welding and machining programs

- Mitchell School District – $1,240,228 for the renovation and expansion of the regional CTE center

- Northeast Technical High School – $150,000 to go toward middle school courses and dual credit ag courses

- Northwest Area Schools Multi District – $830,800 to go toward mobile units

- Rapid City Area School District – $2 million to enhance dual and concurrent enrollment options for regional high schools

- Sioux Falls School District – $768,454 to add two new classrooms at the CTE Academy

- Todd County School District – $103,560 to expand middle school and high school course offerings, in cooperation with White River School District

- Vermillion School District – $99,380 for a public-private partnership in construction trades

- Yankton – $280,325 for regional CTE offerings

In all, 26 applications were received, requesting a total of $20 million.

“While we couldn’t accommodate every proposal, this is a good start,” Daugaard said. “I’m glad to be able to support some of the programs that are helping more young people learn, work and live in South Dakota.”