Weather Forecast


Howard woman among Spirit of Dakota nominees

HURON -- Eleven outstanding women have been nominated by their communities to be honored at the Spirit of Dakota's 27th Anniversary Celebration and Award Banquet, set for Oct 5 at the Huron Event Center.

The nominees are Patricia Baird, Custer; Gayle Bussell, Huron; Bonnie Blue Carr, Spearfish; Arlis Doeden, Groton; Marianne Freng, Huron; DiAnn Kothe, Sioux Falls; Susan Lynn Purintun, De Smet; Rhea Smith, Lantry; Paula Vogelgesang, Wanblee, Luetta Werner, Marion; and Dr. Cecelia Wittmayer, Howard.

The winner will be chosen by an 11-person statewide commission of First Lady Linda Daugaard, Pierre; Bette Poppen, chairwoman, De Smet; Suzette Kirby, Sioux Falls; Rep. Tona Rozum, Mitchell; Julie Garreau, Eagle Butte; Glenna Fouberg, Aberdeen; Sen. Jean Hunhoff, Yankton; Marsha Sumpter, Kadoka; Bev Wright, Turton; and Ginger Thomson, Brookings.

The award is given to a woman who has demonstrated vision, courage and strength of character in the development of her family, community and/or state.

All 11 women will be given distinguished recognition throughout the many activities planned, including the tea in the afternoon in the historic home of Brian and Roz Crabb, an art show open to the public in the lobby of the Huron Event Center from 2 to 7 p.m., a 5:30 p.m. social and 6:30 p.m. banquet.

The winner receives an individually created award plaque, which holds a framed bronze oval with the pioneer woman sculpted by Dale Lamphere, and modeled after his 9-foot sculpture that stands outside the Crossroads Hotel.

Tickets for the banquet may be purchased at the Huron Chamber Office: 605-352-0000 or 1-800-487-6673.