Weather Forecast


Six Davison County officials to seek re-election

All six Davison County officials whose terms are up this year are planning to run for re-election.

Positions up for election this November in Davison County government are three commissioner seats, along with the sheriff, register of deeds and auditor. All six people who currently hold those positions confirmed this week they plan to run for re-election.

0 Talk about it

As of Thursday, Register of Deeds Deb Young, Sheriff Steve Brink and Auditor Susan Kiepke had already filed their petitions to run, according to the county auditor's office.

Running for spots on the commission are District 5 Commissioner John Claggett, District 1 Commissioner Kim Weitala and District 3 Commissioner Gerald Weiss. The three commissioners said they are circulating their petitions.

Leon Baier has filed a candidacy in District 3 as a Republican, according to the auditor's office, which would pit him against Weiss in a Republican primary.

The deadline to file primary election nominating petitions for Democrats and Republicans is March 25. The deadline for independent candidates is April 29.

The June primary is the election that selects which candidate from each party moves on to the November election. If a candidate is running unopposed, the candidate automatically moves on to the November ballot.

Young, a Democrat, has been register of deeds since 1995, and Kiepke, a Republican, started in her current position in 2007. Prior to that, Kiepke was a deputy auditor from 1987 to 1996.

Brink, a Republican, was appointed to his position in 2013 after the previous sheriff, Dave Miles, retired. This is the first time Brink has run for the position.

"I am definitely running," Brink said. "I love my job and would really like to do it for four more years."

Claggett, the commission's chairman, was first elected to the commission in 2007 and began his term in 2008. He is the longest-tenured person currently serving on the commission.

Weitala was appointed to the commission in 2012 and then retained by voters later that year. Weiss was elected in 2007 and took his seat in 2008.

All three commissioners up for re-election are Republicans. Weiss was a Democrat the last time he was elected but switched his political affiliation to Republican in January 2013.