Weather Forecast


Mitchell man charged with wife’s suffocation death

Applications being taken for Mitchell Area Charitable Foundation

The Mitchell Area Charitable Foundation announces that it is now accepting grant applications, which must be submitted by July 3.

The MACF grant guidelines require applications reflect the purposes of the foundation, which are to provide support to charitable and educational programs, care of the needy, improvement of social services and educational facilities, prevention and alleviation of social ills, encouragement of the arts and protection of the environment. Grants are generally made within the categories of Human Services, Community Affairs and Development, Education, Health, Arts and Humanities, and Environment.

MACF provides approximately $40,000 per year in grants to Mitchell area organizations.

Organizations which have received grants in the past several years include Mitchell Regional Habitat for Humanity, Big Brothers Big Sisters, Consumer Credit Counseling Services, Mitchell High School Show Choir, Abbott House, Mitchell Christian School, Mitchell YWCA, Weekend Snack Pack, Junior Achievement, Davison Hanson Red Cross, Love Feast, Mitchell Area Historical Society, First Circuit CASA Program, LifeQuest, Special Olympics, Mitchell Community Scholarship Fund, Mitchell Gymnastics, Dakota Discovery Museum and others.

The Mitchell Area Charitable Foundation was formed in 1985. Members of the Mitchell Area Charitable Foundation Board include President Tona Rozum, Vice President Rebecca Millan, Secretary/Treasurer Gwenda Koch, Doug Eidahl, Dan Allen, Geri Beck, Jerry Thomsen, Susan Kiepke, Peggy Greenway, Bruce Blumer, Dave Brown and Doug Greenway.

To apply for a grant, please complete an application, which is available on the Chamber of Commerce website at mitchellchamber. com or MACF, P.O. Box 1087, Attn: Deb Toomey, Mitchell, S.D., 57301, or you may request an application by emailing macf@

—Source: Mitchell Area Charitable Foundation