Weather Forecast


One dead, several injured following I-90 crash in Mitchell

Muth, Woster get calls to SD Hall of Fame

Two men with ties to Mitchell will be inducted into the South Dakota Hall of Fame later this year.

Dick Muth, a founder of Muth Electric in Mitchell, and Terry Woster, a columnist for The Daily Republic and longtime reporter, will be among 10 inductees at this year’s annual honors ceremony, which will be held Sept. 12-13 in Chamberlain. This year marks the 40th anniversary of the South Dakota Hall of Fame.

Muth, 66, who founded Muth Electric as a 22-year-old in 1970 with his wife, Darlene, said Wednesday he never expected to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

“I’m honored to be in a group of a lot of good South Dakotans,” he said. “I’m not a guy that normally goes out and looks for honors or anything, so it surprises me.”

Muth Electric now has at least 350 employees and offices in Mitchell, Sioux Falls, Rapid City, Aberdeen, Brookings, Watertown, Huron, Omaha, Neb, and Williston, N.D.

“We just worked very hard at doing the right thing, and continue to work very hard,” Muth said.

Woster said Wednesday the idea of being inducted is daunting, given all the notable South Dakotans who are already in the Hall of Fame.

“If it’s recognition for trying to tell the stories of South Dakota’s people and this place, then I accept it gladly,” he said. “That’s what I’ve really tried to do.”

Woster, 70, was raised on a farm near Reliance in Lyman County. He graduated from Chamberlain High School in 1962. He earned a journalism degree from South Dakota State University in 1966, and began his career in 1967 with the Argus Leader in Sioux Falls. Woster also worked for The Associated Press, the Pierre Capitol Journal and now writes two columns a week for The Daily Republic.

The South Dakota Hall of Fame Board considered over 75 nominees before making the selections.

The other inductees this year are Richard Adee, of Bruce; Fredric Cozad, of Martin; Judy Duhamel, of Rapid City; James Emery, deceased; Kay Jorgensen, of Spearfish; Milton Mutch, of Sioux Falls; Donald Montileaux, of Rapid City; and Richard Termes, of Spearfish. For more information about the 2014 inductees, the honors ceremony or the Hall of Fame, contact Greta Chapman at 605-430-0792,, or visit the website at