Weather Forecast


Aadland likely to get Mitchell Board of Education seat

Cory Aadland was the only person to turn in a petition for the Mitchell Board of Education seat that is up for election this year.

Tuesday was the final day to turn in petitions for the seat, which is currently held by Dana Price. That means Aadland, of Mitchell, will likely become a member of the school board since he was the only person to file a petition, Superintendent Joe Graves said Tuesday.

"There's an outside chance that someone could have mailed a petition in, and if that was postmarked in time it would count as well," Graves said.

The election for the seat was scheduled to be held June 3, but Aadland will automatically get the seat if no mailed petitions arrive.

Price, 59, has served nine years on the school board. He expects Aadland "to do a great job" for the Mitchell Board of Education.

"I took out a petition and started to get my signatures, but when I heard Mr. Aadland was running, I sat down with my wife and thought maybe it was time for someone with some fresh ideas to have the seat," Price said in an interview with The Daily Republic on Tuesday.

A primary election for county and state offices will be June 3 and the general election will be Nov. 4. Any independent candidate has until April 29 to file a petition.


In the local races for Legislative seats the following candidates have filed petitions:

• District 8, which covers Miner and Sanborn counties: Candidates for state senator, incumbent Chuck Jones, R-Flandreau, and Scott Parsley, D-Madison, who was a House member in 2014; Candidates for state representative, incumbent Leslie J. Heinemann, R-Flandreau, Matthew Wollmann, R-Madison.

• District 19, which covers Hanson, McCook, Hutchinson, Douglas and the eastern two-thirds of Bon Homme counties: Candidate for the state senator, Bill L. Van Gerpen, R-Tyndall; Candidate for state representative, Kyle Schoenfish, R-Scotland. incumbent Rep. Stace Nelson, R-Fulton, has not filed a petition.

• District 20, which covers Davison, Aurora and Jerauld counties: Candidate for state senator, Michael Vehle, R-Mitchell; Candidates for state representative, Joshua M. Klumb, R-Mount Vernon, incumbent Tona Rozum, R-Mitchell, James V. Schorzmann, D-Mitchell, and David P. Stevens, R-Mitchell. Rep. Lance Carson, R-Mitchell, is term-limited.

• District 21, which covers Tripp, Gregory, Charles Mix counties and the western third of Bon Homme County: Candidate for state senator, incumbent Billie H. Sutton, D-Burke; Candidates for state representative, incumbents Lee Qualm, R-Platte, and Julie Bartling, D-Gregory.

• District 26, which covers Jones, Lyman, Buffalo, Brule, Mellette and Todd counties: Candidates for state senator, John Koskan, R-Wood, and Troy E. Heinert, D-Mission, who is currently a member of the House for District 26A. Sen. Larry Lucas, D-Pickstown, has not filed a petition.

• District 26B, which covers Jones, Lyman, Buffalo and Brule counties: Candidates for state representative, Marty Jandreau, D-Kennebec, and incumbent James Schaefer, R-Kennebec.

Davison County Commission

In the local races for three open seats for the Davison County Board of Commissioners in Districts 1, 3 and 5, the following candidates have filed petitions:

District 1: Incumbent Commissioner Gerald Weiss, R-Ethan is running against Leon Baier, R-Mitchell.

District 3: Incumbent Commissioner Kim Weitala, R-Mitchell, is running unchallenged.

District 5: Incumbent Commissioner John Claggett, R-Mitchell, is running unchallenged.

Other county races

Sheriff: Incumbent Steve Brink, R-Mitchell, no challengers.

Davison County Auditor: Incumbent Susan Kiepke, R-Mitchell, no challengers.

Register of Deeds: Incumbent Deb Young, no challengers.