Weather Forecast


New school board members to take seats

Rick Johnson1 / 2
2 / 2

School board members-elect Rick Johnson and Deb Olson will take their seats on the Mitchell Board of Education when that panel convenes in regular session Monday at 5 p.m. in Room 116 at the Mitchell Career and Technical Education Academy, 821 N. Capital St.

The meeting will be preceded by a 4:30 p.m. reception in the school cafeteria for outgoing board members, Brenda Freidel and Eric Christensen. The public is invited.

"We would like to thank them for their time and service," Superintendent Joe Graves said.

After two, three-year terms on the board both decided not to seek another term on the school board.

Today's annual meeting of the board is organizational in nature and will be divided in half. In the first half the board, including outgoing members, will finish up the business of the 2012-2013 school year, which will include a public hearing for the 2013-2014 district budget.

Johnson and Olson will be sworn in during the meeting's second half.

As part of that agenda the new board will handle the following routine organizational matters.

They will:

• Administer the oath of office to new members.

• Nominate and elect a new board president and vice president.

• Approve lunch prices for the 2013-2014 school year.

• Set activity fees for the school year.

• Set substitute teacher wages.

• Approve a bid for roof repairs at Mitchell Technical Institute.

Approve membership in the the Associated School Boards of South Dakota.