Weather Forecast


School board to honor students today

With graduation right around the corner, the Mitchell Board of Education will spend the first part of today's meeting noting the accomplishments of several groups and individuals at Mitchell High School.

The meeting will be at 5 p.m. in Room 116 at the Mitchell Career and Technical Education Academy, 821 N. Capital St.

As one of the first orders of business, the board will recognize Mason Wenzel, a speech and debate national qualifier, as well as the accomplishments of students involved with Skills USA, Ford AAA Auto Skills, FFA, debate and ProStart.

The board will also consider:

• Approving a resolution to declare used equipment as surplus property so that it may be sold.

• Approving the 2013-14 Mitchell Area Technical Educators agreement. The agreement covers instructors at Mitchell Technical Institute.

• Approving minor changes the 2013-14 Mitchell Middle School handbook.

• Transferring a narrow band of land to the city of Mitchell. The land will be used for the city's construction of a new ice arena.

• Casting ballots for the South Dakota High School Activities Association.

• A first look at 2013-2014 district budget.

• Changing, because of the Memorial Day holiday, the date of the May 27 school board meeting, to 5 p.m. May 28.

• A first look, presented by Dan Muck, of 2013-14 technology enhancements.

Personnel items

Also, as part of a consent agenda, the board will also consider approving the following personnel items:

• Resignations: Mandy Stevens, Carla Eppel, paraeducators, Gertie Belle Rogers Elementary; Michael Hoffman, vice president of finance, MTI; Sandy Walker, Child Development Center director; Callie Beck, part-time bookstore assistant, MTI -- all effective at the end of the school year.

• Resignation (extra-curricular): Joe Shepardson, assistant track coach, pending suitable replacement.

• Transfers: Cindy Bierman, from Mitchell Middle School to Mitchell High School, special education; Melissa Vatter-Miller, from MHS special education to MHS language arts -- both effective for the 2013-2014 school year.

• New hires (extra-curricular): Jason Wear, head boys' soccer coach, $2,856; Kayla Braffet, head girls' soccer coach, $2,500; Christina Siemsen, ninth grade girls' basketball, $2,426; Leslie Warnke, MHS declam, $1,214; Annika Russell and Melissa Temple, half-time FBLA advisers, $648 each; Amy Geisler and Raylna Schilling, half-time MMS musical, $948 each; Melissa Vatter-Miller, color guard/marching band assistant, $1,616 -- all effective for the 2013-2014 school year.

• Change in hours: Dustin Kubik, from part-time to full-time tech support technician, $4,387, effective May 13.

• MTI summer help: Devan Nelson, $10.50 an hour.

• New MTI hires: Gregg Thibodeau, manufacturing instructor, $13,923, effective May 13; Connie Fergen, medical assistant instructor, $10,210, effective June 1; Mary Pranger, CDC director/instructor, $18,753, effective Aug. 1; Bobbie Brink, SLPA instructor, paid through a Technical Education at a Distance (TED) grant, $10,447.50; Melissa Ettswold, curriculum coordinator, $2,419 (TED grant); Beth Schneider instructional strategist (TED grant), $2,661 -- all effective June 1; Tricia Oswald, online enrollment adviser (TED grant), $30,000, effective July 1.

• New hires K-12: Denise Hoffman, half-time math instructor, MA ($40,526) for $20,263; Amanda Christensen, fourth grade, Longfellow Elementary, $35,500; Robin Johnson, seventh grade math, $33,750; Christine Skoglund, MMS special education, $38,000; Erik Skoglund, MHS math, MA, $42,000, head boys' basketball coach, $6,743, assistant MHS track coach, $3,239; Nathan DeGeest, seventh grade social studies/language arts, BA $37,000 -- all for the 2013-2014 school year.