Weather Forecast


Mitchell to get vehicle registration self-service terminal

PIERRE -- The South Dakota Department of Revenue's Division of Motor Vehicles has awarded six new site locations, including one at County Fair Food Store in Mitchell, to place motor vehicle registration self-service terminals.

The 24-hour SST is a fully automated vehicle registration renewal station and dispenses license-plate renewal tags on the spot.

The six new site locations are The Rushmore Mall in Rapid City, Kessler's in Aberdeen, County Fair Food Store in Mitchell, and the Hy-Vee Food Stores in Watertown, Brookings and Yankton. The machines are expected to be installed and operational in early 2013.

There are four self-service terminals currently operating in South Dakota. The SSTs are available in Sioux Falls at the Get-N-Go, located on Arrowhead Parkway and Dawley Farms, and the Hy-Vee Food Store, located on 49th and Louise; in Rapid City at the Public Safety Building on Kansas City Street; and at the Department of Revenue, Pierre office, at 445 E. Capitol Ave.

"We are excited for the opportunity to install self-service terminals in other areas of South Dakota," said Division of Motor Vehicles Director Deb Hillmer. "The terminals already operating have been well-received. I believe the additional locations will experience the same success."

"The real convenience is that vehicle owners from any county can use the terminal with the proper identification."

A vehicle owner can navigate through the touch screen (voice assistance available) with a valid South Dakota driver's license or South Dakota identification card -- or, if a company, with the information provided on the renewal notice. Once the payment has been submitted and the transaction is complete, the license renewal tags and vehicle registration are dispensed directly from the machine.

The SST allows vehicle owners to register up to 90 days before and 30 days after expiration of their current license tags. A $2 convenience fee per vehicle is assessed. Acceptable forms of payment include electronic check, credit cards (MasterCard or Discover only), or ATM/debit cards supported by Pulse, Star, NYCE and Accel.

For more information on vehicle registration renewals, contact the South Dakota Division of Motor Vehicles at (605) 773-3541 or visit its website at or