Weather Forecast


Junior Achievement of Mitchell announces board members

Junior Achievement of Mitchell recently announced that Jeral Gross is serving as the board chairman for the 2013-2014 year.

Jacqson Collins, First National Bank South Dakota; Jen Johnston, Cabela's; and Dustin Ludens, Morgan and Theeler Law Firm, were recently elected to the JA Mitchell board.

Other members serving on the board include: Steve Clark, GF Advertising; Greg Feiner, Innovative Systems; Will Flett, Avera Queen of Peace; Jacquelyn Johnson, Dice Financial Services Group; Megan Luther, Investigative Reporters and Editors; Karmen McCain, Café Teresa; Terra Plamp, ELO Prof. LLC; Rich Platt, BankWest; Becky Roth, L.B. Williams Elementary; Robert Schelske, First Dakota National Bank; and Julie VanOverschelde, Midcontinent Communications. The Junior Achievement of Mitchell board was established in 1996.

More than 60 JA volunteers from the Mitchell business community entered 44 public and private classrooms in the Mitchell School District during the 2012-13 school year. These classroom volunteers served as role models and taught more than 900 students about personal finance, entrepreneurship and work readiness, using hands-on activities to supplement standard classroom curriculum.

In addition, more than 10 executive-level volunteers impacted 200 high school students with ethics education through JA Excelling Through Ethics.