Weather Forecast


Mitchell woman elected to JRWDD leadership post

Chairman Randy Stanley, of Groton, was re-elected as chairman of the James River Water Development District at the district's annual meeting Wednesday in Pierre.

The board also re-elected Carol Millan, of Mitchell, to serve as vice-chairwoman, and re-elected Randy Grismer, of Aberdeen, to serve as secretary. Gary Boomsma, of Wolsey, will continue as the district's treasurer.

The board appointed Robert Braun, of Aberdeen, to Director Area 2. Director Braun will represent the Aberdeen voting districts 6, 8, 9, 10 and 11, and Aberdeen and Bath townships in Brown County. Braun was the lone applicant for the District 2 position. He took his oath of office at Wednesday's meeting and will serve through the end of 2014. Braun replaces Larry Lovrien, who was not eligible for re-election in 2013 because of redistricting after 2010.