Weather Forecast


Three new members named to board of directors at Mitchell hospital

Sister Joan Reichelt, Diane Sandhoff and Dennis Kruse have been elected to membership on the Avera Queen of Peace board of directors.

Kruse is from De Smet and retired in April after 31 years at Kingsbury Electric Cooperative. He represents Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital on the board. He is a member of the Avera De Smet Memorial Hospital board, has served as secretary of the board and has also served on the board of the Rural Electric Economic Development Fund in Madison.

Reichelt is the senior vice president for culture with Avera Health in Sioux Falls, and is also an Avera System member, representing the Sisters of the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary on the board. She previously served on the Avera Queen of Peace board of directors and also on the boards of Avera Health, Avera Sacred Heart Hospital, Yankton; Avera St. Anthony's Hospital, O'Neill, Neb.; and Avera St. Luke's Hospital, Aberdeen. She is currently serving on the boards of Avera Marshall, Marshall, Minn; Avera McKennan, Sioux Falls; and Avera Queen of Peace, Mitchell.

Sandhoff, RN, MS, Parkston, is an associate professor of nursing at Dakota Wesleyan University, Mitchell. She graduated from St. John's School of Nursing, Huron, and received her bachelor's and master's degrees in nursing from South Dakota State University, Brookings. She is a Ph.D. candidate in education at Capella University. She worked at St. Joseph Hospital, Parkston Clinic and Methodist Hospital prior to Dakota Wesleyan University. She served a six-year term on the Avera St. Benedict Hospital board of directors, serving two years as chair of that board.

Kruse, Reichelt and Sandhoff replace Sister Lynn Marie Welbig, Elmer Bietz and Rodney Combs, who retired from the Avera Queen of Peace board after completing their terms.

The Avera Queen of Peace board of directors elected Jacquelyn Johnson, Mitchell, and Charles Bergeleen, Wessington Springs, to a second full term on the board and re-elected Roger Musick to serve as chairman of the board through June 30, 2012. Lori Essig will serve as vice chair and Robert Snortum, M.D., will represent the Avera Queen of Peace Medical Staff on the board.