Weather Forecast


Mitchell man charged with wife’s suffocation death

State hall to induct its second class in March

MADISON -- Harold Thune was part of the inaugural class of the South Dakota High School Basketball Hall of Fame this year.

The second class will be inducted at 2 p.m. March 26 at the Playhouse on the Dakota State University campus in Madison.

The hall is based in Madison. A person has to have been out of high school for 15 years before being considered for induction.

Following are the hall's first two classes.

Class of 2010

Harold Richard "Beans" Thune, Murdo High School, 1930s player.

Gene Walter "Smitty" Smith, Thomas/Watertown high schools, 1940s player.

Jim Iverson, Platte High School, 1940s player. Tom McGrann, Watertown Immaculate Conception, 1950s player. Don Jacobsen, Lake Norden High School, 1950s player. Bob "Swanny" Swanhorst, Cresbard High School, 1950s player. Rex Swett, Huron High School, 1950s player. Max Gonzenbach, Milbank High School, 1950s player. John Thomas, Alexandria High School, 1960s player. Bruce Bad Moccasin, Pierre High School, 1960s player. Steve Brown, Hamlin County High School, 1970s player. Rod "the Rocket" Merriam, Huron High School, 1980s player. Lance Luitjens, Custer High School, 1980s player. Lisa Van Goor, Yankton High School, 1970s player. Becky Flynn-Jensen, Wakonda High School, 1980s player. Becky Hammon, Rapid City Stevens, 1990s player. Robin Anderson, Clear Lake High School, 1970s player. Eldor "Lars" Larson, Strandburg High School, 1940s coach/player. Richard "Dick" Hansen, contributor, Summit High School.

Class of 2011

Rick Nissen, Miller Rustlers,

Kim Templeton, Miller Rustlers, 1970s player. Gordon Fosness, Presho Wolves, 1950s player. Harry "Bud" Carleton, Sioux Falls Washington, 1940s player. Terry DuPris, Cheyenne Eagle 1970s player. Butte Braves, 1970s player. Roger Nelson, Brookings Bobcats, 1950s player. Harley Petersen, Hayti Redbirds, 1950s player. Terry Slattery, Salem St. Mary's, 1950s player. Jim Sutton, Onida Warriors. 1950s player. Jerry Wingen, Canova Eagles, 1950s player. Tom Malchow, Aberdeen Golden Eagles, 1960s player. Alan Miller, Stickney Raiders, 1980s player. Renae Salquist, Brookings Bobcats, 1980s player. JoElle Byre, Sioux Falls Washington, 1980s player. Diane Hiemstra, Yankton Gazelles, 1980s player. Stephanie Schueler, Sioux Falls Lincoln, 1980s player. Pat Morrisson, contributor, Mobridge, player, referee, sports announcer. Team of Excellence: Sisseton Redmen, 1963 undefeated State A champions, 25-0. Jack Theeler was the head coach and Charles Schwahn was the assistant coach.