Weather Forecast


BACK IN TIME: Mitchell Fire Department 1901

Shown is members of the Mitchell Fire Department, Jan. 1, 1901, in their dress uniforms. The drill team placed first in 1901 as they had in 1893, 1894 and 1895. The banner hanging in the background had become a possession of the Mitchell team once they had won first place for three consecutive years, the banner is now stored at the Dakota Discovery Museum.  

0 Talk about it

Pictured are: Top row, Fred Johnson, John Posey, Ed Schlimgen, Joe Vermilyea, Tom Briggs, Bill Duncan, Joe Swift, Roy McCurty, Henry  Swindler (Davison County Sheriff from 1899-1902); Second row, Art Wright, E. Halfhill, George Koehler, Otis Smith, John Sterges, F. Logan, Frank Parks, Clyde Kimball, Roy Perry; Third row, A. Jackson, H. Carlson, N. O. Kingsbury, Bill Pratt, Jim Rogan, Bill Barber, Wm Slade, Luke Willeson, Joe Schlimgen; Front row, George Liko, Frank Purty, Sig Schirmer, Ed Parcell and Jim Duncan. (Photo courtesy of Mitchell Area Historical Society)