Weather Forecast


Spirit of Dakota Award Society seeking nominations

The Spirit of Dakota Award Society is seeking nominations for their 28th anniversary award presentation and celebration. The recipient of this award will be announced at a banquet on Oct. 4 at the Huron Event Center.

The 2014 Spirit of Dakota Award winner will be chosen by a statewide Selection Commission, including First Lady Linda Duagaard, of Pierre; Glenna Fouberg, Aberdeen; Julie Garreau, Eagle Butte; Jean Hunhoff, Yankton; Bette Poppen, Chairman, DeSmet; Tona Rozum, Mitchell; Suzette Kirby, Sioux Falls; Marsha Sumpter, Kadoka; Ginger Thomson, Brookings; Judy Trzynka, Watertown; and Bev Wright, Turton.

The nomination process is open to all interested individuals or organizations who wish to recognize an outstanding woman in their community.

This award is presented to an outstanding South Dakota woman who has demonstrated vision, courage, and strength in character and who has made a significant contribution to the quality of life in her community and state.

Nomination forms are available by contacting the Huron Area Chamber of Commerce, 1725 Dakota Ave S, Huron, SD 57350 (1-800-487-6673) or online at