Weather Forecast


2014 winners of the Agnes Hyde Writing Contest announced at DWU

The winners of this year's Agnes Hyde Writing Contest at Dakota Wesleyan University have been announced.

The following is a list of the winners of this year's literary contest.


First, "To Be, or Not To Be?" by Ashley Kingdon, Huron.

Second, "Matter over Mind," by Delayna Paulson, Mount Vernon.

Third, "Untitled" (The tale of Lewis and Clark's exploratory journey), by Jonathan Wieger, Waubay

Honorable Mentions: "The Step," by Sarah Twibell, Orchard, Neb.; "A Life Stuck in the Autumn," by Autumn Schmidt, White.


First, "Madison, Neb.," by Chris Gubbrud, Springfield.

Second, "Ages of Red," by Taylor Spence, North Branch, Minn.

Third, "After a News Report Stating: Pony, Drunk on Fermented Apples, Drowns in a Swimming Pool," by Chris Gubbrud, Springfield.

Honorable Mention: "A Figment," by Analisa Morel, Gilbert, Ariz.


First, "She & Him," by Analisa Morel, Gilbert, Ariz.

Second, "The Other Parts," by Amber Hiles, Woonsocket.

Third, "The Deadly Cure," by Taylor Spence, North Branch, Minn.

Honorable Mentions: "Fourth Grief," by Emma Otterpohl, Mount Vernon; "Shakespeare," by Amanda Dixon, Mitchell.

The Agnes Hyde Writing Contest was founded in 1985 by Joe Ditta, English professor at DWU from 1983-2012, and its namesake was a 1924 Dakota Wesleyan alumna and English professor at DWU from 1946 to 1951.