Weather Forecast


State FFA Degrees and Stars to be awarded

221 South Dakota FFA members will receive their State FFA Degree, with four of those individuals to be recognized as the State Star Farmer, Star in Agribusiness, Star in Ag Placement and Star in Agriscience at the 86th South Dakota State FFA Convention April 6-8 in Brookings.

The state FFA degree is the highest degree of membership conferred by the South Dakota FFA Association. The requirements for this degree include:

• Having earned and productively invested at least $1,000 or worked at least 300 hours in excess of scheduled class time, or a combination thereof, in a Supervised Agricultural Experience program.

• Demonstrated leadership ability by performing 10 procedures of parliamentary law, giving a six-minute speech on an agriculture or FFA-related topic and serving as an officer, committee chairperson or participating member of a chapter committee.

• Have completed at least 25 hours of community service.

The area Four Star Finalists in each division include:

Star Farmer: Brandon Jacobson, Howard; Nick Pardy, Howard; Abby Repenning, Mitchell; Taylor Sinkie, Wessington Springs.

Star in Agribusiness: Benjamin Snyders, McCook Central.

Star in Ag Placement: Cooper Eliason, Howard; Andrew Hoffman, Mitchell; Brandon Schwader, Howard.

Area FFA Degree recipients include:

Bon Homme: Austin Kaul, Billy Minow; Bridgewater-Emery: John D. Shape, Osmar I. Vinales, Brenda Weber, Jaden B. Weber, Caleb D. Weeldreyer; Chamberlain: Brandon Houska; Howard: Cooper Eliason, Brandon Jacobson, Damon Jacobsen, Nicholas Pardy, Brandon Schwader; Marion: Nick Gortmaker; McCook Central: Kaytlynn Knudsen, Morgan Matthaei, Jim Mayrose, Lauren Miller, Curt Rueckert, Sarah Schoon, Benjamin Snyders, Menno: Cheyenne Edelman, Austin J. Haberman, Madison Huber, Nathan Kirschenman, Emily R. Massey, Devin Mehlhaf, Matthew Preszler, Kelsey Walter; Mitchell: Kylee Geppert, Morgan Hines, Andrew Hoffman, Shelly Iburg, Drew McDonald, Abigail Repenning, Jenna Skinner; Platte-Geddes: Austin Huggins, Carter Koeppe; Wagner: Brady Soulek, Joel Uecker.

-Source: FFA