Weather Forecast


South Dakota Cowboy Music Hall of Fame to gather at State Fair

The South Dakota Country Music Hall of Fame will gather on Aug. 30 at the South Dakota State Fair in Huron for the 11th annual awards ceremony.

The awards will be presented on the Dakotaland Stage at Gate 3 at 6 p.m.

The honored inductees are: Virginia Feekes Spoonemore, of Huron; James Anthony Rose

(Dennis Brown), Flandreau native; Ricky Artz, Onida native; Perk Washenberger, of Aberdeen; Jack Engel, of Rapid City; Edean Landmark, of Watertown; Chad Peterson, Skip Johnson, Lee Schaffer (Clay Creek Deaf Cowboy Band 35th anniversary 2013) from Vermillion and Elk Point; Kenny Putnam, of Rapid City; Jake and Arlene Vilhauer of Highmore; Freeman Howard (deceased) and Mary (Howard) Hamberger, of Yankton; and Richard Danielson from Sioux Falls.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Wilbur and Elizabeth Foss, of Scotland.

They have over 180 years of musical performances to their credits. The South Dakota Country

Music Hall of Fame will also debut its new logo and give updates on the progress of getting

the museum at Lennox open to the public. CD of the year will also be selected during the

ceremony and Janice Gilbert 2013 winner will be presented with her award. Musicians submit

autographed professionally recorded CD's of which one will be selected for one of the newest


The house band will be comprised of some of the prior inductees, including: Roy King, Wilbur

Foss, Paul Engebretson, Elaine Peacock and special guests Sam Tulio and Whitey Boettcher

helping out with drum duty and along with other musicians.

Inductees are nominated by their peers, friends and family. They are then selected based on

their musical history, promotion and support of country music in South Dakota. Musicians and

performers are selected from around the entire state.

The Board of Directors for the South Dakota Country Music Hall of Fame includes: Sara

Sandwick, Dorothy Miles and Chair Wini Iverson. Assistants are Sandi Vander Wal, Ellen

Robertson and Mary Gorrell along with many other volunteers who help us with events and


The Hall of Fame is a non-profit organization, and all work is done on a voluntary basis. The organization relies primarily on donations for its support. The South Dakota Country Music Hall of Fame also helps support music programs for elementary schools in the state of South Dakota. Support has been given in the past to elementary school music programs. Some of the youngsters have performed on stage with the Hall of Famers, and there is a group of youngsters who will perform at 6 p.m. on Saturday night with Elaine Peacock and friends, also on the Dakotaland Stage.