Weather Forecast


Multiple agencies report Presho fire chief killed battling fire

Wenzel named to state Historical Society Foundation board

Korrie Wenzel

PIERRE -- Four people have made a commitment to preserve South Dakota's history by agreeing to serve on the board of directors of the South Dakota Historical Society Foundation.

The nominations of Korrie Wenzel, of Mitchell and publisher of The Daily Republic; Carey Miller, of Sioux Falls; Erin Hogan-Fouberg, of Aberdeen; and Vicki McLain, of Rapid City, were approved during the foundation's board meeting Thursday.

"All of these people bring a strong interest in the state's history to the South Dakota Historical Society Foundation board of directors," said foundation president Michael Lewis, of Rapid City. "They realize how vital it is to preserve the past for future generations."

The foundation, headquartered at the Cultural Heritage Center in Pierre, was established in 1982 as the nonprofit fundraising partner of the South Dakota State Historical Society. The foundation is governed by a citizen board of directors.

The four new board members join nine others on the foundation's board of directors. Jay D. Vogt, director of the State Historical Society and a Mitchell native, is an ex-officio member.