Weather Forecast


Youth baseball teams crowned state champions

1 / 5
Alexandria pitcher Noah Price throws the ball during the sixth inning of the B division championship game at the VFW state 10U baseball tournament Sunday in Mitchell. (Brooke Cersosimo/Republic)2 / 5
Parkston Pee Wee third baseman Brayden Jervik, left, fields a ground ball in a game against Flandreau at the 10U VFW State Tournament Saturday at Cadwell Park in Mitchell. Also pictured is Parkston shortstop Kaleb Weber, right. (Nick McCutcheon/Republic)3 / 5
The Mitchell Sluggers won the VFW state 12U AA Majors Division on Sunday in Brandon. The Sluggers (45-8) came from behind to beat the 81 Bombers 4-2 to win the title. Members of the team are, in front from left, Kade Clark, Landon Huls, Isaac Rew, Isaac Kitchens, Brady Hawkins and Brody Huls. In back are coach Dan Rew, coach Al Huls, Nick Robinson, Austin Kerr, Myles Brewster, Caden Tegethoff, Hunter Stahle, Peyton Nash, coach Brian Nash and coach Gene Kitchens. (Photo courtesy of Brenda Rew) 4 / 5
The Canova Gang were crowned the VFW state 12U B Division champions Sunday in Center. Canova beat Mount Vernon 5-1 in the title game. Members of the team are, in front from left, Hayden Gregerson, Lane Miller, Riley Genzlinger, Ty Beyer and Brayden Hinker. In back are coach Terry Kampshoff, Tanner Jacobsen, Dale Jackson, coach Ron Miller, Colton Spader, Isaac Feldhaus, Jaxon Kampshoff, Ben Laufman and coach Al Spader. (Photo courtesy of Sara Miller) 5 / 5

VFW state 10U baseball tournament champions Friday through Sunday at Cadwell Park Sports Complex in Mitchell

AA Majors: Championship: Harrisburg def. Mitchell Mustangs, 11-4;

3rd place: Brookings def. Pierre, 5-3.

AA Minors: Championship: Pierre 9’s def. Mitchell Sluggers, 4-0;

3rd place: Sioux Falls Pheasants def. Sturgis, 14-0.

A Division: Championship: Vermillion def. West Central, 5-4;

3rd place: Madison def. Flandreau, 10-6.

B Division: Championship: Garretson def. Alexandria, 6-5;

3rd place: Platte Black def. Platte Maroon, 6-5.

VFW state 12U baseball tournament champions

AA Minors: Championship: Mitchell Sluggers 4, 81 Bombers 2

B Division: Canova 5, Mount Vernon 1