Weather Forecast


SD Corn Growers present awards at annual meeting

The South Dakota Corn Growers Association presented a number of awards during the organization’s 28th annual meeting Jan. 18 at the Sioux Falls Convention Center.

Three area men were honored for their service on the organization’s board.

The Presidential Recognition Award was given to retiring South Dakota Corn Utilization Council President Brian Smith of Montrose. This award honors a retiring president for his service to the organization.

Outstanding Service Awards were presented to two other retiring directors of the group.

• Chad Blindauer, of Mitchell, a Corn Utilization Council retiring director and former president.

• Kurt Stiefvater, of Salem, a Corn Growers Association retiring director and secretary/treasurer.

In addition, the association honored Dakota Ethanol of Wentworth as Most Valuable Player in Agriculture, Gary Duffy, of Oldham, for Excellence in Agriculture, State Sen. Shantel Krebs, of Renner, for Outstanding Legislative Leadership and Connie Sieh Groop, of Aberdeen, for Excellence in Public Outreach.