Weather Forecast


New Yankton Sioux Tribe leaders elected

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
News Mitchell,South Dakota 57301
The Daily Republic
(605) 996-5020 customer support
New Yankton Sioux Tribe leaders elected
Mitchell South Dakota 120 South Lawler 57301

MARTY -- The Yankton Sioux Tribe has elected new leaders to its Business and Claims Committee, the tribe's governing body.

Preliminary election results from Sept. 5 show Robert Flying Hawk defeated Baptiste Cournoyer Sr. 638 to 260 votes for the chairman position. Flying Hawk will take Thurman Cournoyer Sr.'s place, who was elected to the position in 2011.

0 Talk about it

Jean Archambeau defeated Ida Ashes 494-384 for one of two vice chairman positions. Ashes had been elected to the position in 2011.

Glenford "Sam" Sully defeated Galacia Drapeau 551-339 votes for the other vice chairman position.

Leo O'Connor defeated William "Sam" Weddel 608-301 for the treasurer position.

Justin Songhawk, Jason Cooke, Mona Wright, Quentin "J.B." Bruguier Jr. and Everdale Songhawk were elected to council seats.

The results will be canvassed during a meeting Monday.

Daily Republic News
(605) 996-5516