Weather Forecast

Burnell Glanzer, left, of Armour, receives a plaque Wednesday in Aberdeen upon his induction into the South Dakota Coaches Association Hall of Fame. (Submitted photo)

Glanzer, other coaches honored by SDHSCA

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports Mitchell, 57301
The Daily Republic
(605) 996-5020 customer support
Mitchell South Dakota 120 South Lawler 57301

ABERDEEN -- Burnell Glanzer, a longtime former basketball coach from Armour, was inducted Wednesday into the South Dakota High School Coaches Association Hall of Fame.


Numerous other coaches also were honored during an awards luncheon at the convention center in the Ramkota Best Western Hotel.

Following is a list of the honorees.


Girls' Cross Country: Larry Buffington of Gayville-Volin.

Boys' Cross Country: Robert Cordts of Madison.

Volleyball: Kari Jung of Warner.

Football: Steve Hansen of Dell Rapids.

Gymnastics: Mark Upward of Vermillion.

Wrestling: Jared Digmann of Parkston.

Girls' Basketball: Stewart Bohle of Warner.

Boys' Basketball: Terry Becker of Pierre.

Spirit: Cami Bacon of Dell Rapids St. Marys.

Athletic Director: Tom Murphy of Aberdeen Roncalli.

Boys' Golf: Kari Stoltenberg of Garretson.

Girls' Golf: Tyler Hockett of Parkston.

Tennis: Scott Ewald of Watertown.

Boys' Track & Field: Craig Black of Custer.

Girls' Track & Field: Jim Appl of Aberdeen Central.

Assistant Boys': Scott Embry of Sioux Falls Lincoln.

Assistant Girls': Skip Kurth of Pierre.

Assistant Middle School: Bob Tiff of Redfield.

Official of the year: Jerry Beers of Brookings.

Broadcaster of the year: Pat Morrison of Mobridge.

Past President Award: Bob Billotto of Eureka.

Hall of Fame inductees: Jim Dorman of Sioux Falls Lincoln; James Drake of Winner; Burnell Glanzer of Armour; John Nyhaug of Viborg; and Doug Schooley of Watertown.

Distinguished Service: Mona Smith of Aberdeen; Tom Boltjes of Platte; and Mark Stanforth of Colorado Springs.

Max Hawk Award: Amanda Nyhaug of Vermillion


Girls' Tennis: Don Barnes of Sioux Falls O'Gorman.

Boys' Tennis: Scott Ewald of Watertown.

Girls' AA Golf: John Knox of Pierre.

Boys' AA Golf: Lyle Pearson of Sioux Falls Lincoln.

Girls' A Golf: Tyler Hocket of Parkston.

Boys' A Golf: Andy Shaw of Lead-Deadwood.

Girls' B Golf: Tom Cooney of Andes Central.

Boys' B Golf: Kari Stoltenberg of Garretson.

Girls' AA Cross Country: Thad Caldwell of Rapid City Central.

Boys' AA Cross Country: Eric Pooley of Sioux Falls Lincoln.

Girls' A Cross Country: Andy VanDeest of Spearfish.

Boys' A Cross Country: Bob Cordts of Madison.

Girls' B Cross Country: Todd Thorson of Ipswich.

Boys' B Cross Country: Phil Bjorneberg of Parker.

Girls' AA Cheer: Molly Christianson of Sioux Falls O'Gorman.

Girls' A Cheer: Casie King of Sioux Valley.

Girls' B Cheer: Cami Bacon of Dell Rapids St. Mary.

Girls' AA Dance: Angela Nieman of Sioux Falls Washington.

Girls' A Dance: Melissa Strong of Dakota Valley.

11AA Football: Brian Hermanson of Sioux Falls Washington.

11A Football: Steve Hansen of Dell Rapids.

11B Football: Dan Aaker of Winner.

9AA Football: Adolph Shepardson of Deubrook Area.

9A Football: Lenny Schroeder of Canistota.

9B Football: Jay Wammen of Harding County.

Girls' AA Volleyball: Holly Lynch of Sioux Falls Roosevelt.

Girls' A Volleyball: Darci Wassenaar of Sioux Falls Christian.

Girls' B Volleyball: Kari Jung of Warner.

Girls' Soccer: Merle Aske of Aberdeen Central.

Boys' Soccer: Ryan Chase of Sioux Falls Christian.

Girls' AA Gymnastics: Pam Junek of Rapid City Central.

Girls' A Gymnastics: Lynn Gudmundson of Deuel.

Boys' A wrestling: Ryan Noyes of Pierre.

Boys' B wrestling: Jared Digmann of Parkston.

- Source: Aberdeen American News