Weather Forecast


Multiple agencies report Presho fire chief killed battling fire

DWU announces Presidential Scholarship Day award recipients

Dakota Wesleyan University invited high school seniors to campus Feb. 21 for its annual Presidential Scholarship Day.

Twenty-two students with outstanding academic records, leadership potential and a commitment to service were all recognized as Presidential Scholars during a luncheon in their honor.

To apply, students must have a minimum of a 3.0 GPA, 21 ACT or 980 SAT. Scholarships ranged in the amount of $10,750 to $13,000 per year.

The following students received scholarships beginning in fall 2014:


Little Rock -- Madeline DeBeer, Presidential Scholarship


Glencoe -- Cole Petersen, Presidential Academic/Athletic Scholarship


Crofton -- Hali Strom, Bishop Leadership Award

Juniata -- Jeremiah Panec, Presidential Academic/Athletic Scholarship

South Dakota

Aberdeen -- Cameron Huff, Tiger Academic/Athletic Award

Beresford -- Devin Erlandson, Presidential Scholarship

Burke -- Shailhyn Schweigert, Presidential Scholarship

Carthage -- Marlee Hattervig, Presidential Scholarship

Ethan -- Anna Mueller, Presidential Academic/Athletic Scholarship

Faith -- Shanna Selby, Presidential Academic/Athletic Scholarship

Geddes -- Rachael Kriz, Presidential Scholarship

Huron -- Kelsey Henson, Presidential Award; Nancy Lund-Harmdierks, Presidential Scholarship

Lake Andes -- DiMera Dvorak, Presidential Scholarship

Mitchell -- Tyson Allen, Presidential Academic/Athletic Scholarship; Ryker Kreutzfeldt, Presidential Academic/Athletic Scholarship; Timothy Parks, Presidential Scholarship

Rapid City -- Paige Hendricks, Presidential Scholarship

Sioux Falls -- John Dosch, Presidential Academic/Athletic Scholarship

Tyndall -- Scott Van Winkle, Presidential Academic/Athletic Scholarship

Wessington Springs -- Samantha Moody, Presidential Award


Cedar Park -- Nick Stevenson, Presidential Academic/Athletic Scholarship