Weather Forecast


Prosecutors will not file charges in overdose death of musician Prince

Artesian man earns award from Special Olympics South Dakota

ARTESIAN — Charlie Unterbrunner was presented Special Olympics South Dakota’s Lyle Farrand Award Nov. 2.

The award is for the organization’s outstanding volunteer and was given to Unterbrunner during the state Special Olympics bowling tournament in Aberdeen earlier this month.

0 Talk about it

Unterbrunner, of Artesian, is the head umpire at the state softball tournament. He makes schedules for umpires and scorekeepers. With his ASA certification, Unterbrunner has worked at national-level tournaments in Ames, Iowa, and Lincoln, Neb.

The award is given in honor of Lyle Farrand, of Sioux Falls, who was instrumental in starting Special Olympics South Dakota in 1968. This award is given to an individual who has made a tremendous impact on Special Olympics.

Here is a list of other Special Olympics South Dakota award winners:

Ron Stewart Award (outstanding coach): Mike and Cindy Markley, of Aberdeen

Don Baker Award (our highest honor): Jan Putnam, of Yankton

Athlete of the Year: Chana Sandoval, of Sioux Falls

D.J. Mertens “Champion” Award (outstanding business, organization or media outlet): Black Hills State University Athletic Department

Outstanding Family Award: Barb Sandoval family, of Sioux Falls