Weather Forecast


Andes Central, Parkston pick up titles at SESDSS tourney

Bridgewater-Emery’s Autumn Hurd celebrates after hitting an approach shot in for eagle on Hole No. 14 during the Southeast South Dakota Small-School golf tournament on Thursday at Yankton’s Fox Run Golf Course. (James D. Cimburek/Yankton Press & Dakotan)

YANKTON — Andes Central’s J.J. Cooney and Parkston’s Sydney Bormann took home individual titles at the Southeastern South Dakota Small-School golf tournament Thursday at Fox Run.

Cooney shot a 74 to win the boys title by six strokes over Canistota’s Drew Suebert, who finished second with an 80.

Bormann claimed the girls title by shooting an 82. Bormann edged teammate Sydney Weber, who finished second after shooting an 83. Parkston’s Sierra Stands shot a 101 to finish seventh, while Jayden Bormann shot a 103 to finish eighth and help the Trojans claim the team title with a score of 165.

Bridgewater-Emery finished second with a score of 192 and Andes Central took third with a score of 212.

On the boys side, Irene-Wakonda and Andes Central both finished with 266s to tie for first.

South Eastern South Dakota Small Schools golf tournament

Thursday in Yankton


TEAM SCORES: Parkston 165, Bridgewater-Emery 192, Andes Central 212, Baltic 213, Irene-Wakonda 217, Avon 226, Centerville 266

TOP 15: Sydney Bormann, Parkston 82; Sydney Weber, Parkston 83; Chantel Brende, Baltic 94; Maisie Hurd, Bridgewater-Emery 94; Sydney Nielsen, Irene-Wakonda 94; Autumn Hurd, Bridgewater-Emery 98; Sierra Stands, Parkston 101; Jayden Bormann, Parkston 103; Rebecca Lehmann, Andes Central 105; Makaela Karst, Mount Vernon-Plankinton 105; Kaleigh Erdahl, Mount Vernon-Plankinton 106; Brooke Deurmier, Andes Central 107; Amanda Rieff, Avon 109; Payton Schaefer, Tripp-Delmont 112; Mikayla Glowcheski, Avon 117.


TEAM SCORES: Irene-Wakonda 266, Andes Central 266, Viborg-Hurley 268, Avon 278, Canistota 280, Gayville-Volin 291, Baltic 305

TOP 15: J.J. Cooney, Andes Central 74; Drew Seubert, Canistota 80; Stephen Bergeson, Gayville-Volin 84; Robert Jensen, Viborg-Hurley 84; Landon Larsen, Irene-Wakonda 86; Justin Ostrem, Irene-Wakonda 86; Cody Thompson, Viborg-Hurley 86; Cody Namininga, Avon 87; Bailey Johnson, Centerville 88; Bobby Beach-Patterson, Mount Vernon-Plankinton 91; Michael Johnson, Avon 94; Joe Evans, Andes Central 94; Alex Taggert, Gayville-Volin 96; Noah Brown, Baltic 96; John Kopp, Avon 97.